Skip to main content

Did Texas' Leighann Goode commit obstruction? Call gets Texas Tech run in WCWS final


play
Show Caption

Editor's note: This story has been updated to reflect Texas beat Texas Tech 2-1.

Controversy has struck at the 2025 Women's College World Series.

Texas catcher Reese Atwood appeared to throw out Texas Tech baserunner Logan Halleman by good measure after the latter attempted to steal second base in the top of the fifth inning of Game 1 of the WCWS championship series.

However, Red Raiders coach Gerry Glasco quickly came out to challenge the out call to check if there was any obstruction. Following a review, the umpires ruled that shortstop Leighann Goode interfered with Halleman's ability to get to second base. Halleman was awarded second base and the out was taken off the board.

One batter later, Mihyia Davis singled to right-center field to give the Red Raiders a 1-0 lead in what has been a pitchers' duel between NiJaree Canady and Teagan Kavan.

What is obstruction? Explaining the college softball rule

Rule 9.5 of the NCAA softball rulebook states that obstruction is when a defensive player inserts themselves into the path of a runner and blocks that player away from attempting to reach that base safely.

"Obstruction occurs when a defensive player, neither in possession of the ball nor in the act of fielding a batted ball, impedes a batter’s attempt to make contact with a pitch or impedes the progress of any runner who is legally running bases on a live ball. It can be intentional or unintentional."

Obstruction can also be called when a defensive player does not have possession of the ball when said fielder:

  • A. Blocks any part of the leading edge of first, second or third base or home plate (as defined); or
  • B. Otherwise blocks the runner from advancing or returning to a base.

By the letter of the rule, because Goode blocked the leading edge of second base, not allowing Halleman a clear path to second base on the stolen base attempt, it was ruled obstruction by the umpires.

The call, of course, was met with plenty of controversy online.

While the play was doubtless controversial, it ultimately proved inconsequential, as Texas' Reese Atwood slapped a two-RBI single in the bottom of the sixth on an intentional walk attempt to give the Longhorns what ultimately was a 2-1 win.