Skip to main content

Did Collin Morikawa cheat at the Masters? Extended Twitter video shows added context


play
Show Caption

Editor's note: Here are the latest live updates from Friday's Round 2, including Tiger Woods' tee time and more.

Social media erupted Thursday when a clip of Collin Morikawa went viral, and viewers swiftly accused him of cheating.

But it might not be that simple.

TV cameras showed Morikawa appearing to move his ball to a new location on the No. 6 green during Thursday's first round of the Masters. Armchair rules interpreters were quick to point out that something looked fishy.

"I need a rules official to weigh in on what Morikawa was doing here," one Twitter account, called "LIV Golf Updates," said in a tweet.

But with more context and an extended look at Morikawa preparing for his putt, the incident was not as some initially thought.

What did Collin Morikawa do at the Masters?

An extended version of the clip that went viral on Twitter showed Morikawa's ball appeared to move involuntarily after it had been marked. Morikawa then looks toward his playing partner before crouching down and replacing his ball before marking it again.

Morikawa appeared to be checking with his playing partner to make sure he was following regulations, and a quick look through the rulebook suggests he was in the right.

According to Rule 13.1d of the U.S. Golf Association guidelines, a ball that has moved must be replaced to the original location, which it appears Morikawa tried to do.

Here is the full rule:

There are two specific Rules for a ball or ball-marker that moves on the putting green.

(1) No Penalty for Accidentally Causing Ball to Move. There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green.

The player must:

Replace the ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), or

Place a ball-marker to mark that original spot.

Exception – Ball Must Be Played as It Lies When Ball Begins to Move During Backswing or Stroke and Stroke Is Made (see Rule 9.1b).

If the player or opponent deliberately lifts the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green, see Rule 9.4 or 9.5 to find out if there is a penalty.

(2) When to Replace Ball Moved by Natural Forces. If natural forces cause a player’s ball on the putting green to move, where the player must play from next depends on whether the ball had already been lifted and replaced on its original spot:

Ball Already Lifted and Replaced. The ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), even though it was moved by natural forces and not by the player, the opponent or an outside influence (see Rule 9.3, Exception).

Ball Not Already Lifted and Replaced. The ball must be played from its new spot (see Rule 9.3).

Morikawa finished 3-under, tied for 13th after his first round at Augusta National.

Morikawa responds

Morikawa took to social media to respond to the claims and explained what he was doing when he marked the ball.

"Ball moved as I addressed it, so I threw the coin down in no specific place, replaced the ball to the original spot and then moved my marker to the original spot (from where I threw it)," Morikawa said. "I play by the rules, I promise."