Houston Texans have TD taken away after instant replay review cites unfamiliar NFL rule
A bizarre sequence near the end of the first half of the Houston Texans' win over the Miami Dolphins on Thursday night had many fans shaking their heads.
Facing second-and-10 from their own 45-yard line, Dolphins quarterback Brock Osweiler was hit by the Texans' Josh Keyes at the 37-yard line, the ball came loose and landed at the 34-yard line. The Texans' Natrell Jamerson picked up the football and ran into the end zone for a touchdown. Or, so we thought.
Of course, all scoring plays are reviewed by replay officials. And, after further review, the call was reversed. The officials ruled that it was an incomplete pass. Huh?
An NFL rulebook deep cut was cited as the reason for the reversal. Rule 8-1-1-1a cites: "If, after intentional forward movement of his hand, contact by an opponent materially affects the passer, causing the ball to go backward, it is a forward pass, regardless of where the ball strikes the ground, a player, an official, or anything else."
Ultimately, the play didn't have a profound impact on the final result, as the Texans cruised past the Dolphins, 42-23, to win a fifth consecutive game.
REACTION: Twitter was baffled by controversial call
WEEK 8 PICKS: Vikings or Saints in key NFC battle?
WEEK 8 QUESTIONS: Will Saints get back at Vikings for 'Minnesota Miracle'?
Follow Paste BN Sports' Jim Reineking on Twitter @jimreineking.
If you love talking football, we have the perfect spot for you. Join our new Facebook Group, The Ruling Off the Field, to engage in friendly debate and conversation with fellow football fans and our NFL insiders.